DJ Earworm comes to Utah

January 30, 2010

Last Wednesday night at 10:30 pm I received an email from my buddies at blurb notifying me of a 3 day designers conference going on at Grand America Hotel. The Altitude Design Summit would be attended by graphic designers, interior designers, industrial designers, musicians, photographers, fashion designers, and the bloggers that blog about them. I had to be there.

Without knowing how I would travel there, or how I would pay the $400 entry fee, I packed up extra clothes, a nice tie of course, 1,000 business cards, set them by the door, and went to bed. Long intense story, short: The networking conference began the next day at 6:30 pm and I arrived via carpool/hitch hike/Utah Trax  in front of the Grand America Hotel by 6:25 pm.

The conference included networking events, a social dinner/dance, classes, speakers, great food, and top designers/bloggers from all across the nation. The whole event was inspirational and I could write about it all day. But one of my favorite speakers was Friday’s Keynote speaker during lunch: DJ Earworm.

DJ Earworm (aka Jordan Roseman) is a San Francisco-based mashup artist. He has become most famous for his yearly “United State of Pop” mashups where he combines the top 22-25 Billboard songs into 1 crazy-exciting mashup. And by “famous” I mean FAMOUS. He was December 2010’s most watched video on youtube with over 9 million views!

He began his speech by explaining the origin of “mashups”, that before there were ever full 100% original compositions, there were mashups. In Europe, clans would have their trademark tune, instrument, or sound. When they would meet with other clans from other lands, they would play their tunes together. It was later that people began creating full original compositions.

My favorite thing about DJ Earworm was how much he loved his own work. He would get so excited to show us samples of his work and even though he put on video to go with his songs, the audience couldn’t help but watch him as he rocked out to his own music.

It was a pleasure to go up and meet him afterwards. Great guy. He gave away 4 signed CDs and I was lucky enough to walk away with one of them. I support DJ Earworm. Enjoy:

DJ EARWORM CD signed

DJ EARWORM CD signed

Leave a Reply

